Location: Wallingford (remote)

Expertise: Soil Hydrology, Hydrogeology & Contaminated Land Management

Contact number: 01491 822 632

Your role in a nutshell:

I am responsible for identifying and securing opportunities to work with new and existing clients.  I am also responsible for providing technical leadership in the delivery of our Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) service.

When you joined WHS: 2024

Your experience:

I am a Chartered Geologist (C.Geol) and registered Specialist in Land Condition (SiLC).  As a water scientist with more than 35 years experience, I have a passion for managing risks relating to the water environment, water resources, contaminated land management and human health, through clear communication and robust analysis. Throughout my career, I have practiced in the UK and internationally, as a consultant in hydrology, hydrogeology, water resources, land quality and water engineering.  I have worked across many sectors including energy, renewables, property, mining, manufacturing and government.  National and international standards, such as the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals, IFC’s Environmental Performance Standards and the financial sector’s Equator Principles, have been at the centre of my work.  I have also stood as an expert witness at numerous planning inquiries and court proceedings.

Why you like working for WHS: I enjoy the focus and energy that working for a relatively small team gives us all.  We get things done.

What drives you: Making a difference.  So from mountains high to valleys low, I channel my fascination for exploring the places where land and water meet, to create new and exciting outcomes.  After all, life on our planet depends what happens where land and water meet, so I feel privileged to be able to spend my time working in all such environments.

What you like doing when not working: I’m a keen runner and enjoy combining this when travelling abroad with friends.  I’ve completed more than 200 half marathons and 4 marathons.  In 2024 I am planning 6 marathons in 6 months.  I also enjoy walking friends’ dogs.  I am a keen gardener and woodworker.